Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Consumer ElectronicsCell Phones & Plans · 6 months ago

what happens to my old phone number? does it get deleted or does it go to somone else?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • ron h
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    it will likely go "unassigned" for a couple of months, maybe more to allow a new owner of that number to not get your calls. After a time it'll be assigned to someone else. How long it's "parked" depends on the company that "owns" it.

  • 6 months ago

    Most companies will only have a certain amount of numbers they can allocate.

    Generally your number will go back into the pool of available numbers. Depending on where you are it may be reserved to you to take up again for a period. It may go to the bottom of the list for allocations but some places might allow for a customer to pick a number and if yours is one that is desirable such as easily remembered it may be picked.

    Eventually it will go to someone else but it depends on a number of factors how quickly that would be.

  • Anonymous
    6 months ago

    Well I had some phone numbers that actually have gotten other users, however we retired a phone number in the mid 2000s that we had since 1982, and we call it every now and then and still get the this phone has been disconnected message.

    Some may get recycled and some may not from my experiences.

  • 6 months ago

    There are only so many phone numbers,

    so they have to be reused.

    In times long gone by, phone companies tried to allow any "used" number to be idle

    for as long as possible (preferably at least two years) before reassigning it,

    but these days there isn't the luxury of time that there once was,

    so your old number might go to someone else within a few weeks.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Jake
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    it gets sent to a call center

  • P
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    The phone company will keep it in their free pool of numbers and eventually assign it to someone else. If you want to keep it you can always get it transfer over to a Google Voice account, but it needs to be done before you cancel the phone service.

  • Olive
    Lv 6
    6 months ago

    They put the number back into their list of numbers and its assigned to someone else

  • SRΛSC
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    Goes to someone else

  • Ducky
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    It’ll go unused for a while but will eventually work it’s way to someone else.

  • ioerr
    Lv 7
    6 months ago

    they throw it away. nobody wants your filthy used phone number

    uh well no actually it goes to somebody else. seriously there's only so many numbers and you can't just make up new ones without adding more digits.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.